Upsc 2020: Notification, Eligibility, admit cards, result, syllabus, exam pattern

Posted on by KNBT

UPSC 2020 : Union Public Service Commission has released the Calender for 2020 which conducts 25 exams in 2020 for serveral government posts.2020 will begin with Indian Engineering Services (Preliminary exam) scheduled to be conducted on 5th Jan 2020.

Read Also: Why bank deposits are likely to turn profitable(Opens in a new browser tab)

upsc 2020
Civil Services 2020

What are the Exams Conducted by Union Public Service Commission ?

N.D.A. & N.A (National Defence Academy & Naval Academy)

Engineering Services (I.E.S)

I.E.S. /I.S.S (Indian Economic Service along with Indian Statistical Service)

Combined Medical Services

Civil Services

Central Armed Police Forces

Combined Defence Services (C.D.S)

Indian Forest Service


What are the Civil services Cutoff Marks 2018 ?

UPSC IAS cutoff
Civil Services – IAS cutoff

Civil Services Current Affairs QUIZ

Civil Services – IAS Eligibilty:

Educational Qualification –

All candidates must have as a minimum one of the following educational qualifications:

  • A degree from a Central, State or a Deemed university
  • A degree received through correspondence or distance education
  • A degree from an open university
  • A qualification recognized by the Government of India as being equivalent to one of the above

The following candidates are also eligible, but must submit proof of their eligibility from a competent authority at their institute/university at the time of the main examination, failing which they will not be allowed to attend the exam.

  • Candidates who have appeared in an examination the passing of which would render them educationally qualified enough to satisfy one of the above points.
  • Candidates who have passed the final exam of the MBBS degree but have not yet completed an internship.
  • Candidates who have passed the final exam of ICAI, ICSI and ICWAI.
  • A degree from a private university.
  • A degree from any foreign university recognized by the Association of Indian Universities.

Age Limit

The candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years (for the General category candidate) on August 1 of the year of examination. Prescribed age limits vary with respect to caste reservations.

  • For Other Backward Castes (OBC) the upper age limit is 35 years.
  • For Scheduled Castes (SC) and Scheduled Tribes (ST), the limit is 37 years.
  • For Defence Services Personnel disabled in operations during hostilities, the limit is 35 years.
  • For Candidates belonging to ex- servicemen including Commissioned officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered Military services for at least five years as on August 1, of the year and have been released
    1. on completion of assignment (including those whose assignment is due to be completed within one year from August 1 of the year otherwise than by way of dismissal or discharge on account of misconduct or inefficiency or
    2. on account of physical disability attributable to Military Service or
    3. on invalidment or
    • Relaxation of up to a maximum of five years will be given in the case of ECOs/SSCOs who have completed an initial period of assignment of five years of Military Service as on August 1 of the year and whose assignment has been extended beyond five years and in whose case the Ministry of Defence issues a certificate that they can apply for civil employment and that they will be released on three months’ notice on selection from the date of receipt of offer of appointment, the limit is 37 years.
  • For ECOs/SSCOs who have completed an initial period of assignment of five years of Military Service, the limit is 37 years.
  • For PwD candidates, the limit is 42 years.
  • For Domiciles of Jammu and Kashmir from January 1, 1980 to December 31, 1989, the limit is 37 years.

Number of attempts –

The number of times a candidate can appear for the exam are given below.

  • General category candidates = 6.
  • OBC category candidates = 9.
  • SC/ST candidates = unlimited attempts till 37 years of age.

Appearing to attempt one of the papers in the preliminary examination is counted as an attempt, including disqualification/ cancellation of candidature. However, applying to sit the exam but failing to attend is not counted as an attempt.

What is Civil Services -IAS Exam Pattern ?

  • The Prelims stage of IAS will consist of 2 compulsory papers- General Ability test (GAT) and Civil Service Aptitude Test (CSAT). This will test the analytical skills of the candidates.
  • All questions will be objective in nature. Candidates will be required to choose any one of the 4 answer choices given for each question.
  • Questions will be set in both English and Hindi Language. However, questions relating to the English Language Comprehension skills of class 10th level will be tested through a passage from English language only without providing Hindi translation thereof in the question paper.
  • IAS Prelims is qualifying in nature. Candidates have to get a minimum of 33 % to be qualified for the Mains. 
  • The number of candidates to be admitted to Mains will be about twelve to thirteen times the total approximate number of vacancies to be filled in the year through this examination.

Does IAS prelims have negative marking?

  • Each question in General Studies paper carries 2 marks.
  • Each question in Civil Service Aptitude Test paper carries 2.5 marks.
  • For each question for which a wrong answer has been given by the candidate, one-third (0.33) of the marks assigned to that question will be deducted as penalty.
  • If a candidate gives more than one answer, it will be treated as a wrong answer even if one of the given answers happens to be correct and the penalty will be the same as mentioned above for that question.
  • If a question is left blank, i.e. no answer is given by the candidate, there will be no penalty for that question.
  • Candidates will have to score a minimum of 33 % to qualify for the exam.

Share and Enjoy !

0 0
About the Author

Leave A Response